Leaves in the Grass

On Friday, the cold finally descended on us, along with cold winds. The dog and I went outside several times to take photographs. The second time, I stopped to put on moccasins and a warm shirt. That worked a lot better.

Both I and the dog were not feeling our best, today. She slept underneath a living room chair, and I fell asleep in the recliner, getting up when I woke feeling warm, again. I like the autumns and the winters. I enjoy the cooler weather, fresh-smelling winds, and the frost on cold mornings. Spring and summer, with the pollen and wasps—not so much.

I enjoy cooking in the colder weather, too. Thick soups, pot roasts, and omelettes with strawberries and preserves, Monterey Jack cheese, chopped mushrooms and ham. Coffee concentrate reconstituted with steaming hot milk instead of water.

And I love the colors of the leaves. The patterns in which they fall, and the textures that are visible when the late afternoon sun shines through them. semi-transparent leaf in the grass

Close-up of Leaf in Grass
Leaf Pattern
One thought on “Leaves in the Grass

  1. The leaves do sound lovely. I’ve always liked cooler weather, myself. Of course, I haven’t encountered too much of the really cold stuff. However, it seems far easier to throw on an extra layer or two to keep warm. Taking stuff off works to a point as things warm up, but b there’s only so much you can remove while staying decent. {Smile}

    A.E.B.

    Like

Comments are closed.