Again, Soup

Winter calls for hot soup, which I missed during the first two meals: slices of chicken breast for breakfast and a bowl of yogurt for lunch.

Again I used the Thai Kitchen ginger soup packet, heating the organic, free-range chicken broth (instead of water), and then putting the egg noodles to soften while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I melted butter in the bottom of a small frying pan and sautéed “fajita” vegetables (onions, bell peppers, etc.), two bunching onions with greens, and the oil and spice packets from the Thai soup packet, and then put that in the bowl of chicken broth and noodles. After, I sautéed about six ounces of roasted chicken breast meat and added it to the soup bowl, but reserving several pieces for Samantha (cocker spaniel). I reheated the soup in the microwave for a minute and a half. The smell of the veggies and spices and chicken sautéing is enough to curl one’s toes with the pleasure of the anticipating.

The soup was quite flavorful. It didn’t really need the pepper that I added when I reheated the soup. (I was reading a book and didn’t eat fast enough that the warm lasted through to the end of the soup.)

 

