Pulled Beef

The butcher shop’s sales run from Wednesday through Tuesday. The bottom arm roast (also called silverside or rump roast) was still on sale when we ate the last of the roast we got last week, and so I sent Al to the shop (I’ve been under the weather again this week) to pick up another, larger roast. Not the same name on the label as last week, but the right price, and it looked pretty much like the same cut. I slow-cooked last week’s three-pound roast in the oven, which worked for cubing it and adding it to other dishes, but was too tough for sandwiches, even sliced as thin as I could get the slices with the electric knife. This time Al came back with a four-pounder, and about seven-thirty last night (Tuesday) I decided to toss it into the Crock Pot.

My favorite tenderizer for lean beef cooked in a slow cooker is Pacific Organic’s “Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup”. At least two of the grocery chains carry it, here in town, in the Organic & Gluten-Free section. It comes out tasting, to me, at least, a lot like barbecue; Al doesn’t agree about the barbecue taste, but he really likes to eat the beef.

Ingredients (all seasoning is ‘to taste’)

  • Lean cut roast, 3.5 – 4.5 lbs
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • white pepper
  • paprika
  • ground mustard (not too much)
  • ground cumin
  • kosher salt (a couple pinches)
  • crushed red pepper (stingy) and
  • Cardiac Cajun: Bayou flavor without the salt, from Wayzata Bay Spice Company, Rogers, Minn. USA*

Cook on low setting for at least 10 hours.

It’s nice to take off the thick layer of fat before cooking the roast. I haven’t got the knack (or a sharp enough knife) to peel the fat off, so I leave it. So, the first step is to put the roast into the bottom of the Crock Pot. Next I add the seasonings and rub them in, following up with two cups of the Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato soup. Last night, I set the pot on low heat (there’s a choice between low and high) to shut off after ten hours. I set my alarm for five-thirty in the morning, at which time I turned the roast over on its side and spooned the soup on top of the roast. Turned the heat on again and went back to bed for another couple of hours, at which time the beef was ready to transfer to a porcelain baking dish with a lid.

Nice thing about the seasoning for the roast is that it tastes better each time it’s reheated. Has time to sink in and blend. Sort of like next-day baked beans with ham, bacon and molasses.

*What extra seasonings are in the Cajun Cardiac blend? Oregano, thyme, basil, pepper, chili pepper, and citric acid.

