“Like Fireflies” – a ballad

Shared for #BeWoW on Wednesday, 11 November 2015. ronovan writes BeWoW network badge

“Like Fireflies”

Like fireflies at eventide
You light my dark’ning way
And when at last full night has come,
please lead me home, I pray.

Your love has ever held me.
My heart is in your hand.
I hear the heav’nly chorus,
the full celestial band.

Like fireflies at eventide
You light my dark’ning way
And when at last full night has come,
please lead me home, I pray.

You’ve overfilled my cup with joy.
Now help me do your will.
Your peace is overflowing.
This heart of mine is still.

Like fireflies at eventide
You light my dark’ning way
And when at last full night has come,
please lead me home, I pray.

I’ve tried to love your children
As you would have us do.
Let judgment come from heaven.
Your love will see us through.

Like fireflies at eventide
You light our dark’ning way
And when at last full night has come,
please bring us home, we pray.

Written on 26 February 2015, by Elizabeth W. Bennefeld. All rights reserved.

Silver Threading Linkback: For More Writer’s Quote Wednesday Links

Writing 201: Poetry. Ballad, Day 6.

Note: All of my assignments for Writing 201: Poetry can now be found on my Quilted Poetry blog. Check the drop-down menu for the pages: Week 1, Week 2, and the additional poem I wrote during that time.

11 thoughts on ““Like Fireflies” – a ballad

    1. I am so happy that you like it! I am a lot better with lyrics than accompaniment. I can hear it in my head, but . . .

      The previous ballad that I wrote (1992), which we sang two or three times during contemporary worship, Al’s (now former) saxophone teacher eventually transcribed for me.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. No, I’m sorry, there are no videos. I merely come from a family that values music and the arts and whose members have a strong preference for creating over merely observing. I sang in church and music clinic choirs from age 5 to my late 40s. So, too, most of my siblings. We played accompaniment for one another. Also, piano for 12 years, along with formal instruction in cornet, trumpet, french horn. I dropped brass lessons after my sophomore year in college.

          We played instrumental music and sang for churches in our area for family nights and such, but we did so because we could, because we were always “making music” at home and in school choirs and bands, It’s something we do/have done because it is fun, it’s worship, and for me (I can’t speak for the others) it’s personal, inner joy.

          But not primary the music. I’m in it for the words that I write, the poetry, mostly. When the music comes to my heart with it, that’s just frosting on the cake.

          But thank you for inquiring. I am pleased that you like the words. Eventually I will tack down a melody on paper also. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.