Poetry 101 Rehab: Ending All

Link to Poetry Rehab 101: End.
The writing prompt is “End”.

“Ending All”
by Liz Bennefeld

Are these tears born
of my sorrow, loss of all
that might come
after?

Or are they tears
of fear, of too soon closure
to all that went before and
come no more?

The roads I chose then
not to follow, once I’d started.
and those I never gave a first
or second thought?

Surely not the paths I found
and took, tasting all
your various actions, thoughts
and joys!

The longing that disrupts
the joy of leaving life forever
is knowing that you now go on
alone.

Traveling roads that we’re not sharing,
thinking thoughts I’ll never know,
finding new life. Do, my dear heart!
Gladly, I now let you go.

Copyright © 2015.03.30 by Liz Bennefeld.
(First draft)

There are realities of life concerning which I am conflicted. The prospects that bring me the greatest joy are also those that provoke tears, sadness and overwhelming feeling of loss. Strangely, in this instance, the knowledge that when I die, I will no longer take part in the lives of those who love me, those I love so strongly, now. The contemplated experience of joy in death and the homecoming that follows is shattered at times by the shattering of relationships that I can only trust, as I trust in God, will continue at time’s ending . .. or that I will understand, accept, and rejoice that those relationships are superseded, either transformed or gone.

Poetry is a medium for exploration of reality, unreality and possibilities. It is a welcome means for exploring my emotions without trying to engage others in my working through lines of thought that may not be within the comfort zone of other people in my life.

 

9 thoughts on “Poetry 101 Rehab: Ending All

  1. What a deeply experienced and thoughtful poem! It reminds me somewhat of Robert Frost’s “Road Not Taken”, but of course, your take on the topic is totally yours and original. I’m glad to discern a sense of calm acceptance in your poem, despite its serious subject. Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Much thanks for your response, Mara. I thought of Frost’s poem, too. And also of my parents, who lost their youngest daughter to a stroke, last October. Life often is not what we expect. . . . Calm acceptance seems an enriching alternative. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It begins with rising emotions and it creates some balance in the end. I would call that well structured and well built.
    But I would rather like to call it – that’s why I am just doing that now – is to call it insightful (if that’s even an English word – I am just too lazy to even try and find a dictionary right now)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the observations on structure. I’d wondered about that, even in this first draft. (And yes, insightful is an English word. I’m happy that you’re applying it to my poem. 🙂

      Like

  3. I don’t believe that I’m afraid of death,( but I might be mistaken) I think I’m more afraid of the grief I will give loved ones, (if that’s not too self important.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We see how others’ deaths affect loved ones. It isn’t difficult to imagine that our own deaths will affect them similarly. I don’t think of it as being self-important to look at a situation from that viewpoint.

      Like

Comments are closed.