Friday in the Garden


The weather was too hot and humid for photography, and so I ventured out just a few times with Samantha, the first time at about 8:30. I slept a lot. I think that I made two more visits to the back yard before the flower petals had all dropped. The temperature was at 95°F when we returned home from grocery shopping late in the afternoon. By then, there were no flowers at all.

 

This weather calls to mind our September of two years ago, when I became unable to breathe because of the heat and almost ended up in the hospital, again. This year, I am staying inside and enjoying the new central air system that we had installed, that year. It keeps the temperature at an even 72°F all year round, making it much easier to breathe, most of the time.

At the back of the yard, along the fence and in the mostly shade, the lawn grass has been totally replaced by thistles that grow close to the ground and spread out their leaves in a circular pattern. I have seen no flowers on them. I believe that whenever the lawn is mowed without first removing the thistles, each piece that remains tries to grow into a new thistle, until there is barely room for new ones to find a place. I plan to boil some water, add vinegar, and pour it over a section of the thistles to see if it will kill both plant and roots.

