Before the rain arrived

I have tried for years to get a good picture of the Green Lacewing. They usually appear on the outside of the back door at night, when I have outside light on. Today I found one on a blue wild flax flower who was willing to wait for a minute or two before it flew away. Not shown in the photo is the tiny fly that shared the flower with the lacewing.

Green Lacewing

The light was not good for photographing the flowers, this morning, when Samantha and I first went outside (without Flea!). I tried various ways to recover the colors.

I haven’t done much with the “art work” for today’s photographs, other than correcting color. But two are ready.

Blue Wild Flax Flowers
Blue Wild Flax Flowers
Blue Wild Flax Flower
Blue Wild Flax Flower

The rain was soft and gentle, and was forecast to be less than a tenth of an inch. As the grass is beginning to sprout in the newly seeded areas of our yard, I suppose we will need to drag out the hose anyway, at the beginning of the evening. I do hope that we get enough root development to keep the dirt from blowing away (or mass movement from yard to house via little puppy dog feet). Today in the back yard, the last time we were out with the camera, Samantha spotted a squirrel just beginning its ascent up the telephone pole. Squirrel evidently had not encounter Samantha before. She wouldn’t have had to leap wildly for the shrubs on the other side of our fence. Samantha is not that quick on the response.

