Friday’s Breakfast | No Plate for Sam

red pepper & tomato soup, kippers, scrambled eggs with leftover spinach
Friday’s Breakfast

Today’s breakfast held a nice bit of variety. Samantha and I woke up at 6:30, this morning, but didn’t get out of bed until closer to 7:30. Samantha, Flea and I went outside, where there were no crows to be seen. Great sadness!

I fixed scrambled eggs, again, but reheated yesterday’s spinach in the frying pan, once the butter had melted. I let them cook while I whisked two eggs, opened a tin of kippered fish, and heated a cup of roasted red pepper and tomato soup. As the temperature outside drops (and we’re not yet inclined to turn on the furnace until the inside temperature gets closer to 62 °F – I have several nice shawls and pachmina wraps), a cup of squash or tomato soup makes a nice alternative to cold juice. The soup also does a nice job of warming me from the inside out that is different from tea or coffee, first thing in the morning.

Samantha did not get her own plate. Great, great sadness!

samantha sitting in my chair at the breakfast table, hoping that I will put down a plate for her also
Expecting a Plate of Her Own
