Halloween is coming | Alien Life (2010)

ladybug (inverted color) navigating a blade of grass
Navigating the Space-Time Continuum
In 2006, I worked with Karen Romanko on her new SFPA project, a virtual Hallowe’en Poetry Reading presented by members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. That first year, and for several years following, I also did the web work. From 2006 through 2013, I volunteered as the editor/curator of this ongoing project. I thought it might be fun to repost some of the poems that I contributed to the project over the years. I think I only missed one year as a contributor.

 

“Alien Life”
by Liz Bennefeld

They live among us,
only slightly alien—
their DNA so close
that some of them can breed
with some of us.
A cross-section of each
is close enough
to be the other.

And so, then, who is alien,
after all? You? I?

I won’t tell,
if you don’t.

– Elizabeth Bennefeld, 2 Nov. 2009. Audio edition published in the 2010 SFPA Online Halloween Poetry Reading. For more Halloween poems by myself (with links to SFPA’s annual Halloween Reading pages) see QuiltedPoetry.net. The current reading can always be found at http://www.sfpoetry.com/halloween.html

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween is coming | Alien Life (2010)

Comments are closed.