Halloween’s Arrival | Vision Stalker

If I counted correctly…there are MP3’s of poems by 16 members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association on the 2015 (10th Annual) Science Fiction Poetry Association’s Online Halloween Poetry Reading. A small gallery of seasonal artwork and photos by members is also included to help set the mood. The Halloween Reading page: http://www.sfpoetry.com/halloween.html.

Cat on living room armchair cushion
Frozen in Time

“Vision Stalker”
by Elizabeth Bennefeld

Eyes glance at me as I enter,
then turn away, indifferent.
Where once I found acceptance,
I see polite, but vacant faces.
My words are spoken
in a newly foreign language.

You have not changed.
It’s I who have become a stranger
through choices not approved,
prowling along uncommon paths
beyond the borders of community.

I will not walk your narrow roads
another night or day
to reattain belongingness
or buy lost camaraderie.

Going my own way, I will stalk
the visions that cry out to me
in the night from distant places.

A solitary hunter, I will seek new voices
that sing in harmony with my heart’s song.

An alien in your midst, no longer.

Copyright © 1996, by Elizabeth W. Bennefeld. Published in Reflections & Visions, a W.H.E.E.L. chapbook (Nov. 1996); in the same year, in an anthology; and later, on the Internet (Deviant Art) by permission. Audio edition published in the 2011 SFPA Online Halloween Poetry Reading.

My mood poem, “Halloween Awakening” (MP3), is included on the 2015 Halloween Reading page, and the text can be found at my QuiltedPoetry.net site under PERFORMED POETRY. (I was co-editor, this year, with Shannon Connor Winward.)

