End of January

Our weather, this week, was nicely warm. Today, however, was more chilly and crust formed over the remaining snow (which still is more than ankle deep). I made a gesture toward firming a path from the back door to the gazebo. If the week is sunny, I will take the laptop to the gazebo for a while each sunny afternoon to be able to spend my writing time out of doors.

I am quite tired of being ill, and I am sure that being out of doors will help me to regain my equilibrium and blow away some of the clouds in my brain.

In fun news, a friend thearanartisan.com and I enjoyed tossing haiku back and forth on her FB page, Friday night. I have consolidated our haiku in order here with a link to her WordPress site. And also to RonovanWrites, whose haiku challenge #81 got us started.

Beginning the third week, this week, of the Prose Poetry workshop under the guidance of Pam Casto. Fascinating stuff. I find that there are genre as well as literary pieces within prose poetry and that my interest in them divides along genre lines as well as (my perceived) quality of the writing.

I realize that some of the books I most enjoy are prose poems, almost front end to back. For example, William Least Heat-Moon’s PrairyErth: A Deep Map, a favorite of mine. I think also of the introductory chapter of Ivanhoe, which I admit to not having reread since shortly after college. (I first read it in late grade school or junior high, either before or just after Quentin Durward). Helen Saunders, my English instructor for the class on that particular period of English literature, was aghast at my statement that I did truly enjoy the writing style.

It seems fortunate, here in my 70th year, that I read nearly all of the “great literature” that  was assigned in college before I turned 18. The older I get, the less time I am likely to allot to any one piece of literature, and the shorter the reading segments for nonfiction (e.g., Francis Fukuyama’s “Political Order” books). Forty-five minutes or an hour here and there to read a cozy mystery or historical romance just for fun is not a great amount of time lost. I’ve become a lot more choosy about speculative fiction, quite often choosing to reread favorite series rather than spend time with new books that are not quite at the highest level of gratification. Often I find myself writing, instead. Or thinking…while petting the puppy dog in my lap.

 

6 thoughts on “End of January

  1. Nice shot of the moon peaking through the branches, surely it inspired something poetic. Sounds like you have lovely relaxing days…unfortunate you are not feeling better though. Being in discomfort can sometimes make one forget how well ever felt. Wishing you much joy in your sunny days on the gazebo with your treasured reading materials! xx hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I spent almost an hour reading in the gazebo, late afternoon. With the heater on low, the temperature got up to nearly 48°F, I believe the outside temperature was 26° lower. Very peaceful, once I’d walked Samantha inside, again. It was good to get into the sun and the fresh air. Glad you like the moon picture. I took a lot of pictures.

    Like

Comments are closed.