Puppies and Flowers

The weather has been cool and comfortable, for the most part, although sometimes too rainy. I have been spending a lot of time in the back yard with the Scampers, reading and taking photographs. It has been relaxing. The past week and ongoing have been harrowing emotionally, and my system has low tolerance for that sort of thing, and so I have concentrated on resting, eating sensibly and taking care of myself. The Scampers have been getting into everything at every opportunity. We spent our “puppy time” watching them sleep, and then had to wake them for the last trip outside and the bedtime treat: dried beef liver.

I have been doing well with the bicycling (stationary exercise bike) with 2.5 to 3.1 miles a day, and my blood oxygen level is mostly 90% or above, while my pulse rate is usually around 70 bpm. The muscle tone is coming back, but I think that would improve with an elliptical set-up that would stretch and exercise more muscle sets. At the end of this month, we will be getting our eyes checked for glasses. I lost my last pair years ago and have been wearing older trifocals to the range. That’s been the only time I have worn glasses. It will be different, seeing what is going on around me.

I have enjoyed playing the piano as well as the photography and exercise. I think that it lifts my spirits to concentrate on activities that require dexterity and repetition in order to achieve set goals. I still am working on consistency. I have perhaps three or four weeks before ragweed pollen season starts, at which time I will be spending the majority of my time inside with air cleaners in each room until the snow falls to cover the ground and everything on it.

The parents still are not doing as well as one would wish. One must work to retain mobility and perception. Things to keep in mind as we age, so that we work to avoid pitfalls as we continue through our life together.

5 thoughts on “Puppies and Flowers

    1. Thank you, Anne. I wish also that it were not necessary. And I lose track of things, which often bothers me. Behind on getting in contact with people that should hear from me regularly. Not getting done all of what needs to be taken care of. Learning again how to relax and go with the flow. Needing to—in addition to making lists—remember where I put them.

      Like

      1. I’ve been having similar problems, I think because of stress from a variety of source including seeing my parents struggle with age-related problems. It’s frustrating, isn’t it? {Sympathetic Smile, WARM SMILE}

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.